Writing a “Letter of Motivation” a.k.a. a “Cover Letter”

Openers:
Dear Mr./Ms./Dr. etc.,
Dear Sir or Madam,
To whom it may concern,

Body:
I am writing in response…
I believe this position is…
I am applying for…
My strengths are…
My qualifications are…
My skills are such that…

My native language is…(German)
I have an excellent command of…(English)
I have attached my resume…
Please feel free to contact me with questions.

Closers:

Sincerely,
Yours sincerely,
Respectfully,
Respectfully yours,
Best regards,

British and American English

There are sometimes differences between British and American English and conventions. Here is a guide to some of the most important differences for your CV/resume and covering letter. But remember, this is a guide only – there are no strict rules. For example, some British people like to use ‘American’ words, and some American people like to use ‘British’ words.

British (European) American
CV/curriculum vitae resumé
resume, CV
covering letter cover letter
covering letter
Standard paper size:
A4 (210 x 297 millimetres)
Standard paper size:
Letter (8 1/2 x 11 inches)
Mrs Ms
Miss
Dear Sirs Gentlemen, Dear Sir
Yours faithfully Yours truly
Yours sincerely Sincerely
Sincerely yours
Yours truly
Managing Director (MD) Chief Executive Officer (CEO)
General Manager
date format: DD/MM/YY
example: 30/12/99
30 December 1999
date format: MM/DD/YY
example: 12/30/99
December 31st, 1999
labour, organise, prioritise labor, organize, prioritize


General Tips:

1) Research where you are applying
2) Give reasons why you should be hired
3) Show something you did
4) Try not to use a template too often
5) Keep it to 1 page
6) Use a permanent address

Vocabulary: 
Concern: to relate to, to be about
Position: A placement
Qualification: A quality, skill or ability that fits a person
Command: to control or be able to easily use
Sincerely: genuine, truly felt
Regards: Feelings of respect
Prioritize: to put in order of most to least important

If Time: Look for any of the above things in my cover letter attached.
Cover Letter for “Accenture”

Previous Post
Comments are closed.
